MacNab St North Rowhouses

Tags: Central

Address: 256,258,26 MacNab Street North
Date Built: 1879  


This stunning brick Victorian terrace was begun in 1879 by John Larkin, a downtown businessman who also erected Treble Hall downtown on John Street North. These residences were built as rental property investments, although Johnís brother Henry, a lawyer, lived in 256-260. Although most of the original features of the row have been preserved, in some cases lovingly restored, the modern double door leading into the courtyard seems "jarringly" out-of-period with the rest of the scape.


Written by: Bill Manson
Search for Books at Chapters

 

Exterior Images:

 

MacNab Street North RowhouseDetailed photo of 256 and 258 MacNab Street North