The Mountain is bounded on the north by the escarpment, on the west and south by hydro corridors and on the east by the old Stoney Creek border roughly at Upper Mount Albion Road. Hamilton Mountain is generally seen as a large and young suburban expanse, but the area boasts quite a rich history which should not be so easily dismissed.
Chedoke Hospital Brow Building
Construction of the Brow Building began in 1915. It was built to treat WWI soldiers with tuberculosis and other lung problems.
Chedoke Hospital East Pavilion
The East and West Pavilions were built in 1917 as a treatment center for World War 1 veterans with lung problems. The East Pavilion is also know as the Hurst building. The West Pavilion no longer stands.
Chedoke Hospital Residence 37
Also known as The Medical Superintendent's Residence. This was built in 1922 when the former residence, Macklem farmhouse, burned down.
Chedoke Hospital The Sanatorium
The Sanatorium was opened as a hospital for tuberculosis in 1906. There is a map at this point on the map. View this entry for a list of buildings within the hospital complex.
Claremont Lodge was built in 1855 as the gatehouse for Auchmar Manor.
Cross of Lorraine
The Cross of Lorraine was built on the edge of the escarpment in 1953. The cross was built as a symbol of hope and a reminder of the threat of tuberculosis.
Former Vincent Massey School
The Former Vincent Massey School now houses the Hamilton Educational Archives and the Hamilton Branch of the Ontario Genealogical Society.
Hess Family Burial Ground
This burial ground has only one tombstone still standing. Michael Hess, the father of Peter Hess (whom Hess St. is named after), is buried here.
The Dingwall House
This home was designed in the late 1950s by architect J.D. Kyles for Dr. Dingwall on the west mountain at the edge of the escarpment.
The Dobell Houses
The Dobell homes were designed in the 1960's by architect Norman Dobell who was hired by homebuilder Grisenthwaite to design a series of homes for a neighbourhood development on the West Mountain.
The Myers Townhouses
The Myers Townhouses were designed by architect Barton Myers in 1971 as part of an mass-production experiment, sponsored by Dofasco, in the prefabricated use of structural members and exterior cladding all made from steel.
The Simpson House
City Architect Stanley Roscoe, who also designed Hamilton's city hall, designed this house which was built in 1964.